The Great Indoors of the Great Indoorsman.

A friend has requested photos of my picture-encrusted dorm rooms, so I’ve gone through old photos in my files to see what I could come up with. Understand, these pictures were taken with a Kodak Instamatic, decades before digital cameras and Instagram, so the quality is lousy. The decors—well, I never got to pick the way the buildings looked and never had the money to gussy up the rooms the way I wanted.

We start with the bedroom of my teenage years, occupied from 1977 or so until 1982, and on visits until 1984. The cat, Poose, (aka Grain, Poosifal, Zane Gray, etc.) lived from 1979 to 1999.

Image

Image

Image

Image

This has nothing to do with my rooms, but here I am on the right in 1981 or so with my tinted Steve Hyde glasses.

Image

Image

The over-decorated dorm room from 1985 doesn’t seem to have been photographed except for this one time. (That’s a poster of John Houseman in the back.):

Image

Here’s the spring 1989 dorm room. I think I added more to it after these pictures were taken:

Image

Image

Image

I should mention that thirty years ago I was a conservative Republican. I’ve since drifted far to the left. But you’ll see some photos of people like Ronald Reagan here and there.

This was the tiny, bathroom-sized room where I starved from January to August 1990, shortly after moving to Austin. I slept on three flat pillows that had been an ottoman in my grandmother’s house. I tied old handkerchiefs to the light chain because it was too short for me to reach otherwise.

Image

Image

This is the co-op room I had from 1990 to 1992:

Image

Image

Image

Take note of the tall stack of red and green Rameses Egyptian cigarettes boxes in the corner here:

Image

This is the now-demolished efficiency I occupied from August 1992 to May 1994. I have since lost the Nixon mask and taken down the Rebel flag.

Image

Image

Image

The bathroom was so tiny I couldn’t open the door without it hitting the sink.

Image

Image

My office in 1994:

Image

Yes, all pretty sad-looking. With my more recent apartments I’ve been going for the “Literate Hoarder” look.

2 thoughts on “The Great Indoors of the Great Indoorsman.

Leave a Reply

