2010–January through May.

January
Saturday, January 2nd–I watched “The 12 Dogs of Christmas” and “Intolerance.”
Wednesday, January 6th–Acupuncture.
Thursday, January 7th–Therapy.
Tuesday, January 12th–My computer died.
Wednesday, January 13th–Acupuncture.
Thursday, January 14th–I went to therapy, watched “Red Dawn” and “O Brother, Where Art Thou?,”  and agreed to take on Belle the Basset Hound.
Saturday, January–I watched “Youth in Revolt” and went to Barnes and Noble.
Tuesday, January–I watched “A Single Man.”
Wednesday, January–Went to acupuncture and UT.
Thursday, January 28th–Belle arrived!
Friday, January 29th–I watched the 1940 version of “Swiss Family Robinson” and the first half of “Professional Soldier.”
Saturday, January 30th–I watched the second part of “Professional Soldier” and “Kidnapped.”
Sunday, January 31st–I watched “The Spirit of Culver.”
February
Monday, February 1st–I watched “The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus” and “The Town Went Wild.”
Thursday, February 4th–I went to therapy and saw “Nine” and “A Single Man.”
Tuesday, February 9th–I went to see “La Danse.”
Thursday, February 18th–Therapy.
Saturday, February 20th–I watched “The Films of Charles and Ray Eames Volumes 1 and 2.”
Sunday, February 21st–I watched “The Films of Charles and Ray Eames Volumes  3 and 4.”
Monday, February 22nd–I watched “The Films of Charles and Ray Eames Volumes 5 and 6.”
Tuesday, February 24th–It snowed and I went to see “Crazy Heart.”
March
Monday, March 8th–I went to the vet, ACC-Rio Grande, 12 Street Books, Whole Foods, Book People, Costco, Office Depot, and HEB.
Tuesday, March 9th–I went to Half-Price Books.
Thursday, March 11th–I went to therapy and the Austin Museum of Art.
Friday, March 12th–I found and took home a bunch of polished black rocks while walking Belle.
Saturday, March 13th–I went to Barnes and Noble, the movie “Visual Acoustics,” and HEB.
Sunday, March 14th–Belle and I walked two miles.
Monday, March 15th–I went to a company party for South By Southwest.
Wednesday, March 17th–I went to see “A Single Man” yet again.
Thursday, March 18th–I went to therapy and the Blanton Museum of Art.
Friday, March 19th–I watched “Nanny McPhee.”
Saturday, March 20th–I watched “The Naked Jungle” and “Brideshead Revisited.”
Monday, March 22nd–I went to Half-Price Books, Fry’s, and Target.
Thursday, March 25th–Therapy.
Friday, March 26th–I watched “Love Is The Devil” and “The Rockford Files: Blessings In Disguise.”
Tuesday, March 30th–I watched “Two For The Road.”
April
Thursday, April 1st–Therapy.
Saturday, April 3rd–I went to Fire Bowl Cafe, Petco, a vitamin store, Sprouts, Michael’s, Bed, Bath, and Beyond, Target, and Barnes and Noble, and watched “The Friends of Eddie Coyle” and “The Big Lebowski.”
Sunday, April 4th–I watched “Kill Bill, Parts 1 & 2” either tonight or last night.
Monday, April 5th–I watched “Is Anybody There?” and “[500] Days of Summer.”
Wednesday, April 7th–Acupuncture.
Thursday, April 8th–I went to therapy, the Perry-Castaneda Library, and the UT Architecture Library, and watched two episodes of “The Avengers.”
Friday, April 9th–I watched four episodes of “The Avengers.”
Saturday, April 10th–I went to UPS, Michael’s, and Barnes and Noble.
Wednesday, April 14th–Acupuncture.
Thursday, April 15th–I went to therapy and the Architecture Library.
Sunday, April 18th–I watched “Port of Shadows” and “Le Trou.”
Monday, April 19th–I watched “Marley and Me.”
Tuesday, April 20th–I watched four episodes of “The Avengers.”
Wednesday, April 21st–I watched three episodes of “The Avengers.”
Thursday, April 22nd–I went to therapy, the Architecture Library, and watched four episodes of “The Avengers.”
Friday, April 23rd–I watched three episodes of “The Avengers.”
Saturday, April 24th–I went to Fire Bowl Cafe, Petco, Barnes and Noble, HEB, and watched “Blazing Saddles.”
Sunday, April 25th–I watched “Three Coins in the Fountain.”
Monday, April 26th–I watched “Our Man Flint.”
Wednesday, April 28th–Acupuncture.
Thursday, April 29th–I went to therapy and the Architecture Library.
Friday, April 30th–I watched “The King” with Gael Garcia Bernal and William Hurt.
May
Wednesday, May 5th–Acupuncture.
Thursday, May 6th–I went to therapy and the Architecture Library, and watched “Defiance.”
Friday, May 7th–I watched “Deathwatch” and “Vendetta for The Saint.”
Saturday, May 8th–I went to the vet.
Thursday, May 13th–Therapy.
Wednesday, May 19th–I went to see “Harry Brown.”
Monday, May 24th–Some time during this week I was eating a vegetarian sweet and sour chicken TV dinner when I came across something about 1 1/2 inches long that I took to be a bone. I set it aside and finished the meal, then took it all into the kitchen. Upon closer inspection, the foreign object appeared to be either a piece of wood or very hard root. I e-mailed the manufacturer, and over the next few days had several e-mails and phone calls about the matter. They’re sending me a bunch of coupons, as well as a pre-paid envelope which I am to use to mail back the object and the box it came in.

Today I went to Veggie Heaven, the PCL, and the Architecture Library.

Tuesday, May 25th–
Wednesday, May 26th–I went out, had a veggie burger, made a quick visit to Barnes & Noble, then went to the Arbor Cinema to see “Exit Through the Gift Shop,” a humorous pseudo-documentary about Banksy, Shepard Fairey, and the Street Art movement.
Thursday, May 27th–
Friday, May 28th–I got paid, but only enough to cover my rent.
Saturday, May 29th–

Sunday, May 30th–I worked, then watched two episodes of “Jason King.”
Monday, May 31st–Memorial Day–I’ve never really understood why we celebrate both Memorial Day and Veteran’s Day in the US. They seem to be more or less identical. I guess on the former day we celebrate the war dead and on the later all veterans living and dead. As it is, I’m not a big fan of holidays. They disrupt the normal flow of services, and they give the under-worked mailmen yet another excuse to sit on their asses and not deliver me my packages.

I woke at the ungodly hour of noon today. After walking Belle I knew it would drive me crazy if I tried to keep myself occupied during daylight hours, with all that painful sunlight streaming through my blinds. Belle and I went back to bed. She fell asleep immediately. I first finished reading James Ellroy’s “The Cold Six Thousand” before sleeping. Amazingly, though I bought the book when it came out in 2001, and got it autographed by Ellroy himself, I didn’t get around to starting it until a few months ago. I was reading through it fairly quickly, but got diverted by work.

This isn’t my record for delayed reading, however. There was a “Texas Monthly” article I set aside in 1980 that I only got around to reading about five years ago. And yes, it was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

